Symposium 5 May 2022: Elden Ring

Really I just want to hear everyone else talk about any/all of the following:

  • What specific characteristics of the game set it up for discussion as “the greatest video game of all time”?
  • Is the lore intentionally impenetrable? What comparisons can we make with the lore of other storyworlds and/or on other platforms?
  • What are the affordances of the game for various kinds of player-performers?
  • What role does virtuosity play in the discourse of the game and around the game, and/or in the performances of individual player-performers (and kinds of player-performers)?
  • What characteristics does it share with Flip Flop Solitaire, Paradise Lost, jazz, Spelunky, and the Platonic Form of the Living Card Game?

We’ll meet at the usual time: Thursday at 8:30pm EST / 7:30pm CST / 5:30pm PST.

About rogertravisjr

Classicist, game critic, game educator.
This entry was posted in Symposium. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s